Head gasket. Should I pay or have a go?
  • Sorry to start with a question but...

After many years of wanting a Cube SO MUCH we got one and I think we were sold a plum. :(
    Looks like I have a blown head gasket/warped head and as we all know we're talking big money here.

We're not giving up on it and I've contacted a couple of local garages
    who were not much help (even on asking for a compression/pressure test)
    so I'm considering having a go at it myself.

I don't mind doing stuff myself but I'm no mechanic and come from an
    air cooled background and the absence of a workshop manual scares me a
    bit (a lot).
    Has anyone on here done a HG job on your own Cube and if so is it as scary as it seems?

I'm thinking of fitting a new timing chain at the same time so I'm
    looking to find the correct parts in the UK for a 2004 Cubic.
    Would a Micra K12 manual be of help?
    Alternatively, anyone know of a decent garage in the Chesterfield area of the UK?
    Any advice or thoughts would be most appreciated as it doing my 'head' in.
    See what I did there?
    I made a pun.
    It's not funny.

• That's unlucky. I should start by saying I've not done this job before, so I don't know how bad it is etc. However, I would say that these engines are really cheaply available, especially if you only need a good head off one. You could just swap the whole thing out for a lower mileage one and be done with it.

The Micra manual is pretty good. There isn't a whole lot of information as regards tearing the engine apart, but it is the same engine at least. The main issue to my mind is that it's aluminium, so you need to be careful with torque and cross-threading.